Council House 2, originally uploaded by AndyLane78.

It’s Monday which means the weekend is over, booo! But it was a nice weekend and I managed to remember to take my camera about with me so I took some snaps of the Old Market Square and the big wheel which is currently taking up most of it

On the bus this morning we had 3 generations of personal music player present. I was listening to my iPod, the bloke across from me had a personal CD player and a girl two seats in front of me was actually listening to a casette walkman! For those of you too young to remember, casettes were what preceeded CDs for the mass-distribution of music and audio in general.

Just seeing it took me back to my early teenage years, slumped on a beanbag making mix-tapes on my dad’s stereo. It wasn’t as easy as it is now, if you were transfering from a casette tape, you had to find the start of the song manually (unless you had a snazzy deck which could tell where one song ended and another started). You had to make sure the levels going out of the “Play” deck were not too high so you didn’t get any distortion on the recording.

You also only had 30 or 45 minutes to work with per side so you actually had to take the track lengths from the the inlay and work out what was going to fit on your tape! Then you actually had to be there, ready to stop the recording at the end of each song and switch the tapes and manually spool the tape forwards past the white leader tape to get the start of the black magnetic part!

Lots of fun though and it actually kept me occupied for hours as a kid. I’m not sure I miss it as such but it’s another thing which the kids of today won’t have as something to occupy their time.

